1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

Profiles of Flying Insects

The flying insects are the subclass Pterygota. This group includes butterflies, ants, beetles, grasshoppers, dragonflies, and many other insects. These articles will help you understand the 25 flying insect orders and the species that belong in each group.
  1. Ants, Bees, & Wasps (48)
  2. Beetles (34)
  3. Butterflies & Moths (49)
  4. Caddisflies (1)
  5. Dragonflies and Damselflies (8)
  6. Fleas (4)
  7. Flies (15)
  8. Grasshoppers and Crickets (10)
  9. Mayflies (1)
  10. Nerve-Winged Insects (3)
  11. Roaches and Mantids (8)
  12. Scorpionflies & Hangingflies (1)
  13. Stick and Leaf Insects (2)
  14. Stoneflies (1)
  15. Termites (4)
  16. True Bugs (24)

Characteristics: Subclass Pterygota and Its Subdivisions
The characteristics of the subclass Pterygota, the subdivision Exopterygota, and the subdivision Endopterygota.

Thrips, Order Thysanoptera
Thrips can be plant pests or beneficial predators of other plant pests. Learn the habit and traits of thrips, which all belong to the order Thysanoptera.

Barklice and Booklice, Order Psocoptera
Barklice and booklice belong to the order Psocoptera, but these insects are not lice. Learn the traits of barklice and booklice.

Rock Crawlers, Order Grylloblattodea
We rarely encounter members of the order Grylloblattodea, simply because they live in places where humans don't. Learn the habits and traits of rock crawlers, also known as ice bugs.

Angel Insects, Order Zoraptera
Angel insects were first thought to be wingless, but we now know that some members of the Order Zoraptera do have wings. Learn the habits and traits of this group.

Webspinners, Order Embiidina
This group of insects are the only ones known to produce silk with glands on their feet. Learn the habits and traits of webspiiners, Order Embiidina.

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.